2016 was a very special year for the Dulwich Almshouse Charity (DAC). The first resident, Henry Briggs, moved into the almshouse in September 1616. Over 400 years later the DAC still provides homes and a supportive community for its residents. Eminent local historian Mr Brian Green researched the DAC’s history to produce a book for our anniversary, The History of the Dulwich Almshouse 1616-2016. The book is superbly written and a fascinating insight into the last 400 years and can be downloaded at the link below.
We are grateful to the London Borough of Southwark and the councillors of the Dulwich Community Council, for a grant from their Neighbourhoods Fund to produce the book.